four years of favorites

Today, September 6th, is the fourth anniversary of our very first butter poached post. 180 posts later we’re going strong and still loving blogging together. We’re cooking in different kitchens and taking pictures with much better (almost always iPhone) cameras, but so many of our goals are the same as they were when we got our start in 2012: to keep growing and stretching in our cooking, to find as much joy as possible in the quotidian meals that make up our regular eating lives, to try new recipes and build up our collections of faves, and to share it all with each other here. To celebrate our blogiversary we thought we’d update our 2014 lists of recipes we return to again and again with some of our latest favorites. Thanks so much for reading!

laughing and cooking and laughing during jessica's visit to springfield in august

laughing and cooking and laughing during jessica’s visit to springfield in august

What Jessica cooks most:

Sausage, White Bean and Kale Soup: I haven’t made this in a while, since it isn’t exactly a summery food, but dang did I make it a lot this winter and spring. And Hal, reading over my shoulder just now, said “the soup! make it!” so I have a feeling it will be back in the rotation soon.

Chicken Lettuce Cups: Another in a long list of insta-favorite Shutterbean recipes, this is quick, delicious, and makes great lunch leftovers.

Linguine with Squash, Bacon, and Goat Cheese: This is top of my list when I’m making a solo dinner, since Hal isn’t a fan of goat cheese. Sad for him, delicious for me.

Steamed Clams with Chorizo: I make this at least once a month, and could easily eat it way more often.

Pots de Creme: Still my very favorite super simple but so fancy feeling dessert.

What Laura cooks most:

Taco Salad: Ed’s no longer always low carb, but he still always wants taco salad. We have it at least once a month, which is not nearly often enough for Ed (without fail, every time I ask him what he wants for dinner, it’s taco salad).

Honey Mustard Vinaigrette from Kale Salad for Haters: I don’t frequently make the entire kale salad from this post (though I’ve made it many, many times since first posting), but I make the vinaigrette all of the time. It’s my favorite homemade dressing and I use it for every green salad.

Tortellini with Sausage, Cream, and Spinach: This is one of the few recipes I know by heart. I turn to it when I want something easy and comforting. Lately, I’ve been adding a few handfuls of shredded mozzarella, which makes it not just creamy, but gooey, too.

Low-carb Jalapeño Popper Dip: I made this dip many times last football season and now that 2016 kickoff is only a few days away, I’m putting it back in the rotation.

Chicken Lettuce Cups (Me, too!): A dish that plays well in both Brooklyn and Springfield! This was a gem Jessica found earlier this year and it’s a reliable weeknight go-to that’s simple, light, and flavorful.

Leave a Reply

