post about toast

In my last post, I mentioned a peach bruschetta from my fabulous Springfield trip that I couldn’t stop thinking about. It was on the menu at one of Laura and Ed’s favorite local restaurants, American Harvest, a farm to table spot that had me thinking about how dang close the farms actually were. Everything we had was delicious–I would be very happy to have a plate of their “organic cheese curds” in front of me right now–but the standout was definitely the peach bruschetta. And I’m still thinking about it! So much so that I suggested it to a friend who was looking for something to round out a rotisserie chicken dinner last weekend, and finally made it myself this week. It absolutely lived up to my happy memory, and made for a perfect summer dinner.

While American Harvest called this a bruschetta and served it as an appetizer, I bumped it up to a toast for dinner. That might be a distinction that exists only in my own mind, but I tend to think of a bruschetta as a little bite and toast as something more substantial. And I wanted a substantial amount of everything on the ingredient list: peaches, ricotta, radishes, basil, and toasted walnuts. The walnuts were my only deviation from the restaurant’s blueprint, a substitute for the sliced almonds in the original. This toast is so absolutely summer, and I think everyone should make it immediately. Though my preference would naturally be to have this in Springfield with my bestest, I’m happy to know I can recreate it in my Brooklyn kitchen.

img_9024
This is beyond a not a recipe recipe, and feels about as silly as telling someone how to make avocado toast. But! I’m a gal that likes a little direction, so here we are. Gather up your ingredients: a ripe peach chopped into bite sized pieces, a thinly sliced radish, a few torn basil leaves, ricotta, a small handful of your favorite kind of toastable nuts nicely toasted and chopped, and whatever bread most speaks to you. I’d get all your ingredients prepped before you toast your toast. I did a little experimenting with the ricotta, trying it just as it was on one piece and whipped up with a little olive oil and salt and pepper on the second piece. I’d strongly recommend the olive oil and s+p addition, unless you happen to have some homemade ricotta in the fridge. Slather ricotta on the toasted bread, and pile on the rest of the ingredients. Top with another sprinkle of salt and pepper, and congratulate yourself on making such a perfectly simple and perfectly lovely dinner.

One thought on “post about toast

Leave a Reply

