magic marshmallow crescent puffs

Jessica is amazing, isn’t she? Her resilience and courage overwhelm me with pride and love and admiration. I’m beyond lucky to have her as a best friend and, of course, as my blogging partner. I wasn’t sure, though, that we would come back to our blog. This place is where we can be as silly and lighthearted on the page as we are in the kitchen, so during the past couple of months it was hard to imagine that we’d ever be back here having fun. Knowing that my best friend was in such pain made it impossible for me to think straight, let alone blog. Not that I gave much thought to the idea of posting here by myself—this is our shared conversation and without my Brooklyn counterpart, there is no Butter Poached. Jessica’s the one who started that conversation again. We were huddled in a back room at her wedding, waiting for the ceremony to begin, when she said she wanted to get back to blogging if I did, too.

You bet I do, bestest.

To mark my return to Butter Poached, I’m sharing the most why-not recipe I know, one that I think would’ve made Jessica’s mom smile for its silliness: magic marshmallow crescent puffs. A puff is made of a crescent roll stuffed with a buttery, cinnamon-sugar-coated marshmallow. The rolls are baked until golden brown and drizzled with a confectioner’s sugar icing. My mom clued me in to these gems. She mailed me the recipe clipped from a newspaper with her handwritten challenge: “I DARE YOU!” My mother apparently holds my baking tastes in much higher regard than is warranted—no dare needed. I couldn’t wait to make these. A marriage of two of my favorite processed foods in one ooey-gooey treat? Pop that tube!

magic marshmallow crescent puffs

These bad boys are truly magical. The puffs bake up in the shape of muffins and the sugary, butter-drenched marshmallow melts into a coating of sweetness that tastes like the prize at the center of a cinnamon roll. The only tricky aspect of the recipe is wrapping the marshmallow in the triangle-shaped piece of crescent dough, but the truth is that you can’t go wrong. I tried many techniques and found that they all worked. The key is making sure the seams are tightly sealed so that the marshmallow doesn’t ooze out (but even if some ‘mallow sneaks loose, it just means you’ll have a little sweet sauce on the outside of the puff). These are fun, super-duper-sweet treats that are perfect for lazy weekends and holiday mornings. I dare you not to try them.

perfect imperfection

perfect imperfection

magic marshmallow crescent puffs
adapted from the grand-prize winner of the 1969 Pillsbury Bake-Off

This version of the recipe makes 8 puffs, but you could easily double it. These are best served warm, fresh from the oven.

ingredients

puffs
2 tablespoons sugar (vanilla sugar is great here)
½ teaspoon cinnamon
1 tube (8 ounces) of refrigerated crescent rolls
8 Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows (or other brand of large marshmallows)
2 tablespoons butter, melted

icing
¼ cup sifted powdered sugar
2 to 3 tablespoons milk
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

instructions

Pre-heat oven to 375º F.

Grease a muffin pan.

In a small bowl, stir together cinnamon and sugar.

Separate crescents into 8 triangles.

Dip a marshmallow in the melted butter, then in the cinnamon-sugar, making sure to coat it thoroughly. Place the marshmallow on a crescent triangle and wrap the dough around it, covering the marshmallow completely. Squeeze the edges of the dough tightly to seal. Dip the sealed side of the dough ball in melted butter and place it, buttered-side down, in the muffin pan. Repeat with remaining marshmallows.

Place the muffin pan on a cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes, until the domes of the puffs are golden brown. While puffs bake, make the icing by stirring together all ingredients in a small bowl until smooth. When puffs are golden brown, remove them from the oven and immediately take them out of the muffin pan. Drizzle with icing. Serve warm.

4 thoughts on “magic marshmallow crescent puffs

  1. Pingback: tortellini with creamy sausage, tomato, and spinach | butter poached

  2. Pingback: new year, new collards | butter poached

Leave a Reply

