one for the weekend: martinez cocktail

My father has a favorite saying that I try my best to remember when times are tough: fight back with normal life (his other favorite saying is “silliness is next to Godliness.” I try to remember that one, too). Meaning that when things are feeling impossible, one of the most healing things we can do is to try our darndest to keep on keeping on. And more than that, to try and relish all of the small and beautiful things that we’re lucky enough to have make up our “normal” lives. So, for example, when things happen that make your world feel sideways, but you are also lucky enough to live with a handsome man who will make you a stiff drink while you watch DVR’d episodes of the Mindy Project…you should let that handsome man make you a stiff drink. And then watch Mindy.

martinez

I don’t usually like stirred drinks–too boozy for me–but the one exception is a bourbon Manhattan. So when Hal told me that a Martinez is “like a Manhattan, but with gin” I was ready to try it. And now I can happily say that I like two stirred drinks. The Martinez is a nice balance of sweet and bitter, “booze-forward” but not so much so that a gal like me makes a face when she takes a sip, and a perfect drink to transition away from more summery choices. It has one of my favorite ingredients, maraschino liqueur, which adds a hint of cherry that I love. Just the right thing to add a little extra punch to your back to normal life fighting.

Today’s post is part of our new “one for the weekend” series. Every Friday, we’ll share a short post intended to send you off for the weekend with something snacky, sweet, fresh, or just plain tasty. Enjoy!

martinez
adapted from The PDT Cocktail Book  

ingredients 
1 1/2 oz gin (my in-house bartender says Old Tom is his first choice, but that any sweeter gin–like Tanqueray Ten–would work. Steer clear of London dry gins for this recipe.)
1 1/2 oz sweet vermouth
1/4 oz maraschino liqueur (like Luxardo)
2 dashes Angostura bitters
1 orange twist, for garnish

instructions
Put all ingredients but twist in a mixing glass. Add ice and stir for 15-20 seconds. Strain into a coupe / martini glass, and garnish with your twist. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

