one for the weekend: peaches soaked in wine

I had a nice cooking challenge earlier this week: make a dairy free dessert. Molly was coming over for dinner to talk wedding flowers (!), and mentioned in passing that she was trying to cut down on dairy these days. Since I had coincidentally already picked out a dairy free dinner to make, I decided to stick with the trend and hunt up something sweet without dairy to end the meal. I searched through my cookbooks, realized butter is in dang near everything, and then found my answer in Ina Garten’s beautiful Barefoot in Paris (especially perfect, since I visited Molly in Paris during her semester abroad): peaches in Sauternes. With just four ingredients and a little soaking time I had an elegant dessert highlighting fresh summer peaches, with nary a dairy in sight. It was cool, colorful, full of fancy feeling flavor, and simple as could be. Ina always knows.

IMG_0084_2

A bonus of this lovely recipe: if you have lots leftover (say, for example, you’ve made enough food for four to actually serve three, forgotten that your fiance doesn’t really love peaches, and cooked such a big dinner that you hardly have room for dessert anyway…), you have the base for a deelish jam. The day after I served my dessert, I drained the wine away from the peaches and plunked them back in the pot, added the juice of a lemon and let the mixture simmer away for about 20 minutes. When the peaches were nice and soft I smooshed them up with a potato masher, added in a few sprigs of rosemary, and let it simmer for about 15 more minutes. Voila: jam!

Today’s recipe is part of our new “one for the weekend” series. Every Friday, we’ll share a short post intended to send you off for the weekend with something snacky, sweet, fresh, or just plain tasty. Enjoy!

peaches in wine
adapted from Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris

ingredients
(Note: my measurements were meant to serve three with leftovers, and in practice served two with plenty leftover for jam. Ina recommends 6-8 peaches for 4-6 guests, and adds an extra tbs of sugar)

5 ripe peaches
2 tbs sugar
1 bottle sweet wine (Ina suggests “good Sauternes,” I used a sweeter sparkling wine recommended by our local guy, who was out of Sauternes)
1 tbs Grand Marnier

instructions
Peel peaches. To make this simpler, immerse peaches in boiling water for 1-2 minutes to loosen the skins. Remove to a bowl of cold water to stop cooking. Drain peaches, and peel.

Slice peaches into wedges and place in a large bowl with sugar, wine, and Grand Marnier. Stir to combine.

Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, up to overnight (I sliced my peaches the night before I needed them, then added the other ingredients in the morning before work). Serve cool…maybe over ice cream, if you’re having a dairy-full dinner.

One thought on “one for the weekend: peaches soaked in wine

Leave a Reply

