calling all bakers!

I’d love your help with a baking project. One of my favorite signs of the holiday season is The Washington Post‘s annual cookie bonanza: an issue of the Food section devoted to an absurd number of cookies, bars, and other seasonal sweets. This year’s insert appeared today and it was exciting. My Facebook feed was buzzing with people’s plans to bake until the butter ran out. Even though the Post is no longer my local paper, I spent an inordinate amount of time clicking through/drooling over each of the 25 recipes online. I wanted to make. them. all. And I actually thought about baking all 25… until I had the much saner, much better idea to ask you for help.

my dad was kind enough to snap a photo of the WaPo for me

my dad was kind enough to snap a photo of today’s WaPo for me

Here’s my idea: if you are interested in trying any of the 25 recipes in today’s Post (listed below with links to each recipe), send an email to butterpoached@gmail.com by midnight this Friday, December 6. Let me know which recipe or recipes you’d be willing to try. On Saturday, December 7, I’ll let everyone know what they’re baking. Then you’ll bake your treat, take a picture, and email me a photo and your thoughts by midnight on Sunday, December 15. The week of the 15th, I’ll share your pics and stories.

To participate, you don’t have to be a blogger, you don’t have to live in the D.C. area, you don’t have to have a fancy camera (cell phone photos welcome), you just have to like to bake. Actually, you don’t even have to like to bake—there are a few no-bake recipes in the collection. Let me know if you’re game!

The Washington Post‘s 2013 Cookie List

Chocolate Rum Balls

Cherry Macaroon Rosettes

Honey Maple Pecan Bars

Salt Caramel Millionaire’s Shortbread

Spicy Peanut and Toasted Coconut No-Bakes

White Chocolate Honey Crisp Bars (no bake)

Boozy Bourbon Chocolate Chippers

Salted Chocolate Chip and Sour Cherry Cookies

Almond and Chocolate Biscotti

Pine Nut Shortbread With Goat Cheese Spread and Balsamic Glaze

Pretzel Cowboy Cookies

Figgy Bars

Chocolate Chip Cookie Variations

Lemon, Dill, and Havarti Wafers

Kifli

Granola Squares (no bake)

Spiced Apple Crumb Bars

Chocolate Chip Heath Crunch Strips

Cucidati (Sicilian Fig-Filled Cookies)

Edible Letters

Ugly But Good Chunky Hazelnut-Chocolate Meringues

Hallon Cookies

Gingerbread Pear S’mores

Fennel Macarons with Fresh Mint Date Filling

Gingerbread Stockings

5 thoughts on “calling all bakers!

  1. Pingback: roasting to the dinner rescue | butter poached

  2. Pingback: holiday cookie bonanza | butter poached

Leave a Reply

